Integrated Education and Training (IET), Session 1.

In Integrated Education and Training (IET), Community of Practice members work in agency-based teams of educators and agency administrators through the process of developing plans for implementing one of four instructional models that successfully integrate adult education basic skills instruction (i.e., Adult Basic Education or English has a Second Language) with technical or occupational skills instruction. The four models are: Co-teaching, Alternating Teaching, Vocational ESL/ABE-specific, and Cluster Vocational ESL/ABE. (For more information about the Community of Practice delivery format, please see the Community of Practice Web page.)



The goal of Session 1 is for participants to understand what integrated education and training (IET) is and how they can implement it in their programs.


By the end of Session 1, participants will be able to:

  • Define key terms and components of IET models;
  • Identify four specific IET models;
  • Analyze and cite reasons for implementing IET models; and
  • Assess the degree of readiness of your agency to implement an IET model.